Rockingham Distracted Driving Accident Lawyers
Fighting for victims of serious car and truck accidents since 1979
Distracted driving is incredibly common in and around Rockingham, North Carolina. The reality is that there are various types of distractions that can occur behind the wheel. This can include distractions caused by phones and other electronics, as well as distractions caused by other people in the vehicle. Distracted driving also includes drunk driving and driver fatigue because those drivers are not focused 100% on their driving.
At Price, Petho & Associates, our team is here to help when distracted driving causes serious injuries or death. Our lawyers are skilled at showing that a driver was distracted, and that the distraction caused the driver to ram into your vehicle. We question everyone in the vehicle, examine the data from smartphones, and inspect how the cars moved to help show a driver wasn’t paying attention. Our Rockingham lawyers are respected for our record of obtaining strong verdicts and settlements in personal injury cases.
How can we help?
- How dangerous is distracted driving?
- What qualifies as distracted driving in Rockingham?
- What are the distracted driving laws in North Carolina?
- Who is liable for a distracted driving accident in Rockingham?
- What does a Rockingham distracted driving attorney do?
- When should I file my Rockingham distracted driving accident claim?
- Do you have a distracted driving accident lawyer near me?
How dangerous is distracted driving?
Distracted driving is a very serious problem in Rockingham, North Carolina, and across the United States. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) states that more than 3,100 people died due to distracted driving in America in 2020. The NHSA defines distracted driving as “any activity that diverts attention from driving, including talking or texting on your phone, eating and drinking, talking to people in your vehicle, fiddling with the stereo, entertainment or navigation system — anything that takes your attention away from the task of safe driving.”
Texting is the most dangerous type of distraction. Reading or sending a text message takes 5 seconds. Drivers who are traveling at 60 mph are traveling 88 feet per second. In the 5 seconds a driver takes his/her eyes off the road, the driver travels 440 feet – about one-and-a-half football fields.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), nearly 400,000 people sustain injuries each year as a result of distracted driving. There are three fundamental risks involved with distracted driving. A distracted driver:
- Is not visually looking at the traffic in the driver’s front, sides, and rear.
- Is not thinking about how to respond to emergencies.
- Is not physically able to respond by steering, honking, using lights, or taking other steps to avoid the accident or warn other drivers.
What qualifies as distracted driving in Rockingham?
Distracted driving includes:
- Texting while driving
- Browsing the Internet or email on a phone
- Adjusting the radio or GPS
- Reaching for something inside the vehicle
- Talking on a cell phone that requires using your hands while driving
- Eating or drinking while driving
- Smoking while driving
- Focusing on children or other passengers while driving
- Looking at the scenery or another accident while driving
- Personal grooming
- Driver fatigue
- Driving while intoxicated
What are the distracted driving laws in North Carolina?
In North Carolina, it is illegal to use a mobile phone for text messages or email communications. The law makes it illegal to type text or read any text messages or emails. Drivers of commercial vehicles cannot use a hand-held communication device – for texting or for talking. Some exceptions do apply.
According to the North Carolina Department of Transportation, anyone under 18 cannot talk or text on a handheld device.
It’s important to know that we can still show that a driver’s distraction caused your accident – even if the driver did not violate any laws. It helps to show that a driver violated the law – but there is no requirement to show a legal violation.
Who is liable for a distracted driving accident in Rockingham?
At Price, Petho & Associates, we file claims against all responsible defendants. These defendants may include:
- The driver who was distracted. In many cases, the driver is solely liable. In others, there could be additional liable parties.
- The owners of the vehicle, if different than the drivers. This can include a trucking company, for example, or the parents of a teen driver if the parents are the ones who own the vehicle.
- An employer. If the driver distraction accident occurred while a car driver was making a sale for an employer, or a truck driver was making a delivery for an employer, the trucking company that hired the truck driver may be liable.
Other defendants may be liable depending on how the accident happened and their relationship to the driver.
What does a Rockingham distracted driving attorney do?
Our Rockingham distracted driving lawyers work to show the car, truck, or motorcycle driver who caused your injuries did so because of distracted driving. Some of the steps we take to show a driver was distracted include:
- Presenting your testimony including your observations about whether you (or anyone in your car) saw the driver using a smartphone or other evidence of distraction.
- Questioning the driver of the car that struck you and everyone in the car about the driver’s conduct immediately before the accident.
- Questioning any other witnesses.
- Speaking with law enforcement and any other first responders on the scene.
- Using the discovery process to examine the data entries on the phone – and other electronic equipment in the car or truck prior to the accident.
- Examining the driver’s car for other signs of evidence of distraction such as beer containers or food wrappers.
- Examining the path of the driver’s car prior to and after the accident to show whether the driver used his/her brakes, ran through a red light, or was negligent in other ways.
- Reviewing any truck logs to determine if a truck driver exceeded any hours of service requirements.
We also help you determine your best course of action for pursuing compensation. Depending on your circumstances, you may need to file a personal injury lawsuit, or make a claim for compensation through workers’ compensation.
When should I file my Rockingham distracted driving accident claim?
It is crucial for people injured in a vehicle accident caused by a distracted driver to know that they have a limited amount of time to file a lawsuit to recover compensation. The North Carolina personal injury statute of limitations is three years from the date an injury occurs. This gives distracted driving accident victims a three-year window with which to file a lawsuit against the alleged negligent driver.
In some cases, such as wrongful death cases, the time for filing a claim is just two years. Insurance companies have strict deadlines for filing claims.
Anyone who has a distracted driving claim should contact us immediately. We need to investigate the accident site, phone logs, truck logs, and other evidence while the evidence is fresh. The sooner we speak with you, the sooner we can answer all your questions and help prepare your claim.
Do you have a distracted driving accident lawyer near me?
We meet Rockingham clients at our office located at 801 E Broad Ave, #17 in Rockingham, NC. We also meet clients in Charlotte and Rutherfordton. When necessary, we meet clients at their homes or in a hospital.
Call a Rockingham distracted driving accident lawyer today
If you or somebody you love has been injured in an accident caused by the actions of a distracted driver in the Rockingham area, turn to the team at Price, Petho & Associates for help today. We have extensive experience handling complex vehicle accident claims throughout North Carolina, and we have the resources necessary to fully investigate this incident. We work to determine liability so we can recover compensation for your medical bills, property damage expenses, lost wages, pain and suffering damages, and more. Call 704-372-2160 or fill out our contact form to schedule a free consultation.